Introduction and Teaching Philosophy

Last modified date: March 21, 2017

Welcome! My name is Lily and I graduated from Nursing at McGill in 2016. I became a Registered Nurse in Toronto early this year and I’m very excited to see what the future holds for me as a new nurse. I have always been interested in the field of public health throughout my undergraduate days, and when I researched for an opportunity to extend my educational involvement, I stumbled upon the Master’s of Public Health (MHP) program at the University of Toronto, and when I submitted my letter of intent, the rest was history. Currently, I am happily enrolled in the MPH, Family and Community Medicine stream and have been enjoying developing my postgraduate teaching and learning philosophies in the INTAPT course.

Learning is a continuous, lifelong process that’s enriched by experiences. The development of learning is a pathway that every adult needs to ensure success, and what our current society’s philosophy and foundation is based upon. That being said, I believe that self-regulated learning and active learning are the most important concepts of teaching and learning in a postgraduate level, and during medical practices. I teach in a similar way. When I teach nursing students, I allow them to set their own learning objectives, identify learning gaps, and perform self-evaluation with ongoing feedback from me. This way, I believe the student will be able to have a deeper understanding of the material and be able to identify their own learning needs and compare and contrast to what I think they need. From personal experience and through research, I found that self-directed learning enabled me, as a learner, to understand which areas I needed to improve and allowed better understanding and retention of information, since I was actively involved in seeking the solution (Goldman & Sloan, 1994). More importantly, self-directed learning gives the student increased responsivity, which leads to increased motivation and engagement (Nussbaum-Beach, 2016). Similarly, active learning also has many benefits – it enhances the development of graduate capabilities such as critical and creative thinking, problem-solving, adaptability, communication and interpersonal skills (Freeman et al., 2014), all of which are extremely important as a nurse.

 References

Freeman, S., Eddy, S. K., McDonough, M., Smith, M. K., Okoroafor, N., Jordt, H., &

Goldman, S. A., & Sloan, R. H. (1994, March). The Power of Self-Directed Learning. Machine Learning14(3), 271-294. doi:10.1023/A:1022605628675

Nussbaum-Beach, S. (2016, April 24). The power of self-directed learning. Retrieved March 19, 2017, from http://plpnetwork.com/2016/04/24/the-power-of-self-directed-learning/

Wenderotha, M. P. (2014, June 10). Active learning increases student performance in science, engineering, and mathematics. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences111(23), 8410-8415. doi:10.1073/pnas.1319030111

Leave a Reply

